People like you


 

Minus all compassion you’re not true blue
A sad demeanour that’s selfish to the core
My parents warned me about people like you

Casually desolating all others as if your due
Leaving crippled emotions difficult to restore
Minus all compassion you’re not true blue

While continuing to satisfy some inner issue
Disavowing hearts left all battered and sore
My parents warned me about people like you

Bullying rendered all to a state of snafu
Albeit leaves an open debt balance reservoir
Minus all compassion you’re not true blue

Gifting the next generation the abuse to continue
Hopefully they’ll not venture down that corridor
My parents warned me about people like you

As ’twas others happiness you chose to subdue
Left alone now in age-care with your own rancour
Minus all compassion you’re not true blue
My parents warned me about people like you

8 comments on “People like you

  1. Very powerful and while I can’t be sure of the genesis of your poem sadly I can think of one very prominent person minus all compassion and is definately not true blue that comes to mind immediately.

    Liked by 1 person

Any and all critique welcome

