Day 6 … My Choice for Poetry Potlucking 201:


201

 

Share with us a poem that you love (by someone who isn’t you, please). Quote a particularly striking line (or two) in a new message or drop a link to the whole piece. Most importantly: tell us, in a sentence or two, what about it moves you.

 

Once again I had posted it in the wrong place you would think I would have learned by now, I am honestly a work in progress, error now corrected apologies all round 🙂

 

As a 10-11year old pupil in a little bush school this poem captured my imagination

http://www.poetrylibrary.edu.au/poets/paterson-a-b-banjo/clancy-of-the-overflow-0001006

From that day, I have spent many years trying to emulate Banjo Paterson’s unique Bush Ballard genre.
If I had to select the section that spoke to me the loudest, it would be this

And the bush hath friends to meet him, and their kindly voices greet him
In the murmur of the breezes and the river on its bars,
And he sees the vision splendid of the sunlit plains extended,
And at night the wond’rous glory of the everlasting stars.

.
Those four lines describe the first twelve years of my life, this is why I have made it my business to return to my farm families every chance I get.

2 comments on “Day 6 … My Choice for Poetry Potlucking 201:

  1. G’day kahwahtan,
    Thank you for taking the time to read it and comment, most of his poetry is done in this fashion, almost a sing song style, A great Australian poet

    Like

Any and all critique welcome

