Brown Chook -v- Black Puppy


DAILY PROMPT

Not Lemonade

When life gives you lemons… make something else. Tell us about a time you used an object or resolved a tricky situation in an unorthodox way.

Brown Chook -v- Black Puppy

A cackling brown chook on the fence

a yapping black puppy on the ground

a louder neighbourhood dispute

I don’t reckon could ever be found

A personal intervention

had puppy scuttling off to his bed

while a shoo and clapping of hands

sent chook flying to the chicken shed

Whatever she’d been doing up there

was something I needed to know

because that’s my special fernery

where the chooks are not meant to go

As my ferns are all undamaged

over the fence I will take a look

there well hidden is a nest of eggs

just abandoned by my brown chook

Retrieval of those wholesome gems

is the next step in this fool’s facade

they belong in a carton in my fridge

not in the neighbour’s back yard

To hang over the fence and scoop them up

trying not to look a fool

got a tin can a long piece of wire

and fashioned a primitive tool

Another day on the holiday farm

where animals all run free

I’ve had to become a Jill of all trades

and I didn’t need a degree

2 comments on “Brown Chook -v- Black Puppy

  1. Pingback: The Other Species | It's Mayur Remember?

Any and all critique welcome

