Writing 101, Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page


We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

Today’s twist: Write this post in a distinct style from your own.

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-3

They were a mistake

When I think of all the fears and terrors that haunt me at any given time, the worst one without a doubt would have to be my fear of Huntsman spiders; this fear comes to me wrapped in cold terror. What adds insult to injury for me and makes it even worse is, it’s all packaged up in self anger, because I know that logically the ruddy creatures can’t hurt me, nor do they want to.

            To be honest it’s not the only the Huntsman that frightens me, all spiders do, but it’s the one that almost paralyses me with fear, if there is someone else when one appears it’s up to them to remove it. When alone in the house I have been known to sit staring at one, just in case it moves, and I don’t know where it will hide, for up to two hours waiting for Hubby to return home to get it out of the house.

            The only time I have ever got up enough courage to remove them myself is when our children were small, hoping that by doing so I would not transfer my fear onto them, it didn’t work, our daughter is as bad as I am, which saddens me no end, knowing for a fact I inherited my phobia from my own mother who was an arachnophobic of the screaming kind, if one came in the room and she saw it, her screams would resound through the house, until it bought help running in to rescue her.

Again I have resorted to my favourite poetic format to give a more creative explanation of how I feel about them.

Spiders

 

Please tell me why they were made

they fill me full of dread

On the drawing board they should have stayed

 

Was it some mad escapade?

or a nightmare visiting him in bed?

Please tell me why they were made

 

To repay a debt long delayed?

maybe blue prints had been misread

On the drawing board they should have stayed.

 

Isn’t there some way they can be remade

to resemble something nice instead?

Please tell me why they were made

 

They leave my nerves all disarrayed

crawling on the ceiling overhead

On the drawing board they should have stayed.

 

He must have been quite dismayed

At his creation looking so inbred                            

Please tell me why they were made

On the drawing board they should have stayed

7 comments on “Writing 101, Day Seventeen: Your Personality on the Page

  1. There is a TED talk on spider’s silk. I found it so interesting, and although they are still ugly to me, it helped me to see something amazing and beautiful about them. I’m a work in progress when it comes to spiders, and the more I think about them, the more of them I see. I’ve been working on focusing on other things, and by golly, I don’t see as many of them. Hope that helps!

    Like

    • G’day Gerri,
      Thank you for visiting and your thoughtful comments, yes I have seen some of the Ted talks, my son is an avid fan of it.
      As for my spider thing, I suppose it read like they come in plagues, which is far from the truth, if we get a visit from two or three a year I think I am hard done by. I normally don’t think about them and they never visit in dreams, it was just seeing the topic prompt that instigated my story.

      Like

  2. I wasn’t familiar with the huntsman spider, but after seeing the photos on the web, I don’t blame you for keeping an eye on them! Spiders don’t usually bother me, but I think I’d change my mind they were all that large.

    Like

    • Yes they can be on the large size, can change colour and the horrible things run like the dickens, their only blessing in my book is they are virtually harmless, hahahaha I’m just a sook really.
      Thank you for your visit 🙂

      Like

Any and all critique welcome

