Won’t you climb a tree with me?


Image

We were healthy and carefree

Mum had left and we were poor

Won’t you climb a tree with me?

Age old gum, pine or pepper tree

All of them for us to explore

We were healthy and carefree

Cooked bad mushrooms for our tea

A nasty way to learn the score

Won’t you climb a tree with me?

Swum in dams my brothers and me

Sowed wheat bags until fingers sore

We were healthy and carefree

Future heartache we didn’t foresee

Camping by the river fish galore

Won’t you climb a tree with me?

A life of freedom a glorious spree

Nothing I’d change that’s for sure

We were healthy and carefree

Won’t you climb a tree with me?

2 comments on “Won’t you climb a tree with me?

Any and all critique welcome

